Rough times

Hey everyone,

These last few months have been rough for me. I was diagnosed with nocardia, which is an infection in the lungs that immo-supressed patients get. I have been getting sick and switching the drugs for treatment. On top of that, yesterday I was diagnosed with steroid-induced diabetes. I am currently taking insulin. Its actually crazy. I haven’t caught a break here. I’m trying to keep busy these days. For example, I am almost finished with my career diploma in a few weeks. I have just 4 chapters left and I am done! I will then get my career diploma online from ashworth college in nutrition. Maybe I will become certified. Who knows what the future will hold. Also I have been speaking a lot these days to students in various colleges about organ donation. I’m actually speaking for F.I.T this Monday night. Also I am in charge of Brooklyn for the New York Organ Donor Network so Im holding my first event, this Tuesday! Its from 5:30 to 7pm at 2176 Flatbush ave in Brooklyn. We will be talking about how I can change Brooklyn for the better and get more volunteers.
I woke up with vertigo today so I stood in my PJ’s all day to relax and now I will distract myself with a movie. Times have been tough for me. I just can’t seem to catch a break. It’s always one thing after the other with me. I just want to lead a normal life. I’m doing my best and living life to the fullest but I hope it gets easier to do this.

Love
Kristin

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Rough times

  1. Greg Molini

    Hey Kristin,
    I know things will get better it’s just a mattter of when,you have a lot to look forward to and a lot of people count on you (NY Organ Network,new people getting transplants,family and to help me build a new restaurant. I guest when your down and low the only way togo is up 🙂

    Love Ya
    Daddy

  2. I’m sooo sorry to hear of your current downturn. I rarely check in to your blog and was surprised to see your news. I remember gong weekly, then monthly for the 1st year or two of my transplant for preventative breathing treatment. I have never heard of steroid induced diabetes! Gesh! What a drag. You poor baby.

    From reading your blog I know your young and have a personal constitution to live and give. I also have a gathering of loving circle. This is tough, know you through your writings, and I believe you have what it takes to follow through with the things that will, again, help you to be standing strong soon. And without that silly vertigo! Sometimes I believe God (or whom/whatever) has set an individual limit-guage on each of us. When we hit the top of the gauge it and puts us on our back and look up. You do a lot. Slow down. Just be. -s

  3. DJLoo

    Hang in there, Kristin. You are the most amazing person, and I just know things will get better again. I am hoping you’ll have a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to hearing good news about you. God bless you, and stay strong!

Leave a Reply

